LUDWIG-BÖLKOW Technology Award M-V 2023

The “LUDWIG-BÖLKOW Technology Award Mecklenburg-Vorpommern” was awarded this year to Webasto Thermo & Comfort SE from Neubrandenburg. “Webasto Thermo & Comfort SE, an established automotive supplier, […]

Zuletzt aktualisiert: 10.11.2023

The "LUDWIG-BÖLKOW Technology Award Mecklenburg-Vorpommern" was awarded this year to Webasto Thermo & Comfort SE from Neubrandenburg.

"Webasto Thermo & Comfort SE, an established automotive supplier, early on initiated the transformation process from combustion to electromobility. Through targeted, industry-oriented research and development, the company laid the foundation for a new heating technology. This innovation is a prime example of the innovative capabilities of our companies in the region, as well as the cooperating application-oriented research institutions. With the new business segment High Voltage Heaters, Webasto in Neubrandenburg has already secured and partially created 150 industrial jobs in electromobility transformation," said Jochen Schulte, State Secretary in the Ministry of Economy, Infrastructure, Tourism, and Labor.

The Ludwig-Bölkow Technology Award aims to encourage companies, especially, to intensify their research and development activities. High-quality products and services that can withstand international competition help companies secure their existence, expand their economic success, and create well-paying, future-oriented jobs.

Innovation supports the transformation to electromobility

Webasto Group, led as a family business since its founding in 1901, has established itself as a global system partner in the mobility sector. The company's offerings include roof, heating, and cooling systems for various types of vehicles, batteries, and charging solutions for hybrid and electric vehicles, as well as additional services related to thermal management and electromobility.

Since the acquisition of the Sirokko plant in 1990, the Neubrandenburg site has become a specialist in fuel-operated heating systems. Webasto responded early to the changing landscape of mobility and introduced a High Voltage Heater (HVH) for electric vehicles to the market in 2015. Its heating function is based on a special thin-layer construction, incorporating metallic and ceramic materials. For the production of the layer structure, newly developed production methods based on laser welding, arc coating, and plasma spraying technologies were combined, allowing for an energy-efficient electric heating function for water circuits in a compact and lightweight design. The applications enable various power and voltage variants. With its innovative product offering, Webasto Thermo & Comfort SE contributes to a more climate-friendly mobility.

"The long-term research and development work of Webasto Thermo & Comfort SE has paid off! We are very pleased that the innovative company from Neubrandenburg, with its unique High Voltage Heater HVH, has prevailed with the jury and congratulations on this award. The High Voltage Heater with its applications and performance variants is the basis for the thermal management of electric vehicles, contributing to the global shift in mobility. The successful handling of these complex research and development tasks has a high impact and enhances the attractiveness of the industrial location. This year's award is therefore well-deserved for this highly innovative company," said Dr. Wolfgang Blank, President of the hosting Chamber of Industry and Commerce Neubrandenburg.

Information about the LUDWIG-BÖLKOW Technology Award

Since 2003, the Ministry of Economy and the three Chambers of Industry and Commerce in the state annually award the "LUDWIG BÖLKOW Technology Award Mecklenburg-Vorpommern." Under the patronage of the Minister of Economic Affairs of the state, companies and scientists are honored for novel innovations in the form of products, processes, and technological services. One goal is to integrate innovations and scientific knowledge more intensively into the companies in the state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. This year, 19 applications were submitted for the state technology award. The submitted solutions from medical technology, the healthcare industry, automotive, biotechnology, renewable energy, as well as novel digital products and services impressively demonstrate that technology-oriented companies in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern also have answers to the urgent needs of our time. The award winner receives a prize money of €10,000. The namesake Dr. Dr. hc. mult. Ludwig Bölkow was a native of Schwerin and co-founder of the Messerschmidt-Bölkow-Blohm (MBB) group, from which DASA (now EADS) emerged. All information about the award at:

Source: Ministry of Economy, Infrastructure, Tourism, and Labor MV (WM)